Three nominations rejected, 374 valid for Meghalaya polls

Shillong, Feb 8: The Election Commission on Thursday scrutinized the nomination papers of the 377 candidates from the different political parties and Independent candidates for the February 27 Meghalaya Assembly elections, an official said.

Chief Electoral Officer Frederick Roy Kharkongor said that the nominations of three candidates were rejected – Serazul H. Kharkongor and Arelitha K Sangma of the North East India Development Party (NEIDP) and Milson Sangma of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) were rejected.

Congress candidate George B. Lyngdoh had raised objection against the nomination papers of National People’s Party candidate, Ngaitlang Dhar from Umroi constituency for providing wrong information with regards to his profession and source of income.

Kharkongor said altogether the nomination papers of the 374 candidates, including 33 women and 85 of them are Independents

“The nomination papers of Serazul were rejected because of the disqualification by Election Commission for not lodging his election expenditures in the 2013 assembly election,” the election official said.

The Election Commission rejected the nomination papers of Arelitha and Milson for failing to have 10 proposers in the nominations.

Meanwhile, Ri-Bhoi District Election Officer, Chinmay .P. Gotmare said that the Congress candidate George Lyngdoh from Umroi assembly seat has o filed a complaint against his arch-rival NPP candidate Ngaitlang Dhar for providing wrong information with regards to his profession and source of income.

Dhar is one of the richest candidates where he disclosed his assets in the affidavit worth around Rs 290 crore.

Election to the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly will be held on February 27 and counting of votes on March 3

The ninth Meghalaya Assembly comprising 60 members was constituted on March 7, 2013, and its term expires on March 6.

Discover more from

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply