Meghalaya: Independence Day Celebration with ceremonial flag hoisting across the state

Shillong, Aug. 15: Along with the rest of the country, Meghalaya, today celebrated the 75th Independence Day across the state.

In the state capital Shillong, Chief Minister,  Conrad K Sangma hoisted the National Flag and took the Rashtriya Salute of 22 Parade Contingents comprising of the Assam Rifles, BSF, CRPF, East Khasi Hills DEF, 1st MLP Bn, SF10, NCC, Bharat Scouts and Guides, St. Edmund’s Higher Secondary School, St.Mary’s Higher Secondary School, St Anthony’s Higher Secondary School, Nongrah Presbyterian Secondary School, Holy Cross Higher Secondary School, Mawngap District Christian Multipurpose Higher Secondary School, Unitarian Higher Secondary School, St Joseph’s Girls Higher Secondary School, Shullai Progressive Secondary School, Seven Set Higher Secondary School, Meghalaya Police Public School, Horse riding contingent of Assam Rifles Public School and brass band of Border Wing Home Guards.

During the occasion, the Chief Minister released a Special Cover on “75 years of India’s Independence” in the presence of Chief Post Master General, NE Circle,  Subrat Das.

The Chief Minister also handed over prizes to the winners of the Locality Beautification and Enhancement Competition wherein Dorbar Shnong Nongrim Hills, Dorbar Shnong Mawlai Iewrynghep and Jail Road Welfare Committee bagged the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively. The People’s Choice Best Locality Award on the basis of the highest number of votes online goes to Dorbar Shnong Nongmensong, Best Street Art (Locality) goes to Dorbar Shnong Wahingdoh and the Best Street Art (Artist) was bagged by Dorbar Shnong Laban.

The names for Police Medal for Meritorious Service to Shri Lakador Syiem, Commandant, 6th Battalion Meghalaya Police, Umran Ri-Bhoi District; Shri Bikram D Marak, Superintendent of Police, West Jaintia Hills; Shri T C Chacko, Deputy Commandant, 4th MLP Battalion, Vikaspuri, Police Line, New Delhi and Shri Galdinson R Marak, AB Inspector, Kote, Meghalaya, and Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation, 2022 to Meghalaya Deputy SP, Shri Pyrkhatlang Suchiang were announced.

Further, Home Guards & Civil Defence Medals for Meritorious Service to Shri Kharnesh A. Sangma, Sub-Inspector (HG) and Shri T. Marbaniang, Havildar (HG) were also announced on the occasion.

On the occasion, prizes were distributed to the winners of March Past who took part in the Independence Day celebration wherein the 1st Prize was bagged by St. Mary’s Higher Secondary School, Nongrah Presbyterian Secondary School emerged 1st Runners up and Seven Set Higher Secondary School bagged the 2nd Runners up trophy.

The other highlights of the day includes cultural programmes, presentation of Kayakalp Awards to Tura Civil Hospital which bagged the award for Best District Hospital and Eco-friendly Health Facilities, Best Community Health Centre to Sohiong CHC, Best Primary Health Centre was bagged by Jongkha PHC and Health and Wellness Centre to Thynroit Sub Centre.

The Commendation Award was bagged by Reid Provincial Chest Hospital, Pomlum PHC, Kharang Sub Centre and Lyngkhoi Sub Centre in the category of Best Hospital, Best PHC and Best Health and Wellness Centre respectively.

Discover more from

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.