Shillong, Aug.15: Meghalaya joined the rest of the country in the celebration of 71st Independence Day on August 15, 2017. Chief Minister Dr. Mukul Sangma unfurled the National Flag and took the Rashtriya Salute during the ceremonial parade held at the Polo Ground, Shillong.

The marching contingents, includes 58 GTC, CRPF, DEF, SF-10, Border Wing Home Guard, Bharat Scouts & Guides, NCC, Indian Red Cross Society, BSF Secondary School, Pine Mount School, Army Public School, Holy Cross Secondary School, Little Flower School, Loreto Convent School, Assam Rifles Public School, Meghalaya Police Public School and the combined Brass and Pipe Band of Border Wing Home Guard, BSF, Assam Rifles and Military Band from 58 GTC led by Parade Commander Major Sandeep Halder from 58 GTC and 2nd in command Inspector R. C. Bordoloi, ABSI, DEF. The Horse contingent from Assam Rifles Public School Laitkor added grandeur to the parade.

The names of the recipients of Police Medal for Gallantry were also announced during the celebration. Shri Deven Mawlein, Inspector, West Khasi Hills DEF, Shri Jose Sumer, Constable, West Khasi Hills DEF, Shri Grohon K. Marak, Constable, West Khasi Hills DEF, Shri Victor N. Sangma, DSP, SF-10, Shri Nikcheng Senga Ch. Momin, DSP, North Garo Hills, Shri Jester A. Sangma, Constable, SF-10 and Shri Mac Donald Thongni, Constable, SF-10.

The Chief Minister also handed over the District Appreciation Award to Smti Nancy M. Shadap, Superintendent, Government Shelter Home Girls, Shillong for her dedication to duty and selfless service, GVK EMRI for their prompt and reliable delivery of medical services and Dorbar Shnong Mawshbuit for their sustained efforts in keeping the popular tourist spot Sweet falls located in their village impeccably clean.
The Chief Minister also handed over the State level awards and District Incentive awards to Anganwadi workers. The recipients of the State level award 2016-17 are Smti Icylda War of Umlyngka Lumpongdeng Anganwadi Centre, Mylliem ICDS project and Smti Aiesty Nongrum of Dewsaw Pathaw Anganwadi Centre, Pynursla ICDS project of East Khasi Hills District. Recipients of the State level award 2017-18 Smti Eming Khonglam of Wahpathaw Anganwadi Centre, Pynursla ICDS project, East Khasi Hills District, Smti Iarlis Syngkli of Diwon ‘B’ Anganwadi Centre, Umling ICDS project, Ri-Bhoi District, Smti Dianghun Kharsyntiew of Khliehmawlieh Anganwadi Centre, Nongstoin ICDS project, West Khasi Hills District, Smti Gentillina R. Marak of Lower Chidegre Anganwadi Centre, Samanda ICDS project, East Garo Hills District, Smti Chynna Mulieh of Ialong Shnong Thymme Anganwadi Centre, Thadlaskein ICDS project, West Jaintia Hills District, Smti Dimi Lyngdoh of Tuber Wah Anganwadi Centre, Khliehriat ICDS project, East Jaintia Hills District and Smti Aftria S Marak of Upper Wadanang Anganwadi Centre, Urban ICDS project, West Garo Hills District.

The recipients of District Incentive award 2016-17 are Smti Korben Warjrem of Ksehpongdeng Anganwadi Centre, Mawryngkneng ICDS project and Smti Nosilian Jyrwa of Ummylle Anganwadi Centre, Mawphlang ICDS project. Recipients of District Incentive award 2017-18 Smti Ioida Nongkhlaw of Kyrdemkhla Anganwadi Centre, Laitkroh ICDS project and Smti Brilin Kharkongor of Nongthymmai I Anganwadi Centre, Laitkroh ICDS project.

The Chief Minister also handed over the District best ODF award for 2017-18 to Mawkasiang village under Mylliem C&RD Block and prizes for the winners of school marching contingents. Loreto Convent bagged the first prize in the March Past while Meghalaya Police Public School and Little Flower School bagged the second and third prize respectively.

Others highlights of the celebration in the city include cultural programs, Independence Day Run and Green pedal challenge. Dog show competition, skills display by dogs from BSF and Meghalaya Police Dog Squad and live band from BSF and Assam Rifles at Wards Lake. Free cinema shows at Payal, Bijou, Galleria and Gold Cinema. Food court and live performances by various artists at Khyndailad, Shillong.


Discover more from

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a Reply