Chief Minister, Leader of Opposition, Agatha file nominations

Shillong, Feb 06: Chief Minister, Mukul Sangma, Leader of Opposition, Donkupar Roy and other ministers were among 153 candidates who submitted their nominations on Tuesday.

The chief minister filed his nominations as Congress candidate from Ampati, the constituency he had represented since 1993, and he will submit his nominations from Songsak on Wednesday.

The chief minister is contesting from two seats.

Besides the Leader of Opposition who filed his nominations from Shella, the chief minister’s wife, Dikkanchi D. Shira of the Congress from Mahendraganj, former chief minister and veteran Congress MLA, Salseng C. Marak from Resubelpara, Congress minister, Ronnie V. Lyngdoh from Mylliem, former Union minister, Agatha K. Sangma of the National People’s Party from South Tura, sitting UDP MLA from West Shillong, Paul Lyngdoh, UDP legislator from Mairang, Metbah Lyngdoh besides a number of sitting legislators from different parties also filed their nominations.

Most of the BJP candidates also submitted their nominations which include, former Congress legislator, A.L. Hek from Pynthorumkhrah, Sanbor Shullai from South Shillong, Justine Dkhar from Khliehriat, Robinus Syngkon from Mookaiaw, former MLA, J.A. Lyngdoh from North Shillong, Phlour W. Khongjee from Sohra, Bakul Ch Hajong from Ampati who is taking on the chief minister, besides other candidates.

BJP National Spokesperson, Nalin Kohli accompanied Hek and other candidates in Shillong during the filing of nominations.

Among other candidates, chairman of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council, L.G. Nongsiej from Nongstoiñ, chief executive member of the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council, Boston Marak from Salmanpara constituency, and former IAS officer, Jopthiaw Lyngdoh from Nartiang also filed their nominations.

Filing of nominations will conclude on Wednesday for the elections to the tenth Meghalaya Assembly slated for February 27.

However there were also some candidates who had filed their nominations earlier and they came to submit their additional nomination papers on Wednesday.

Discover more from

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply