Two Congress MLAs in Meghalaya take oath as ministers

Shillong,Aug 4 : Two Congress MLAs Dr Celestine Lyngdoh and Comingone Ymbon were sworn in as new ministers of Mukul Sangma-led government on Friday.
Meghalaya Governor Banwarilal Purohit administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new Ministers at the raj Bhavan here in the presence of Chief Minister, Mukul Sangma, Assembly Speaker, A.T. Mondal, other Ministers, and senior government official.
Dr Celestine has been allotted the Public Health Engineering (PHE) department, District Council Affairs Department, and Border Areas Development department, while Ymbon has been assigned to look after the Community & Rural Development department and Power department.
Speaking to media persons after the swearing-in ceremony, Chief Minister, Mukul Sangma said that new members of the Cabinet would have to acclimatize with the new responsibility assigned to them expressed hope that they would be able to response to challenges as members of the cabinet.
According to the chief minister, cabinet reshuffle should take place more frequent as it can him create healthy environment and put to rest all perceptions of disunity and disgruntlement.
Dr Celestine said that though time is very short, but he would try his level best to deliver and carry out the responsibility given to him with the guidance and support of the Chief Minister.
Ymbon said that with the blessing and cooperation of the Chief Minister, he would try his best to perform as minister though only few months left before going into fresh Assembly election.
“The time is still right and I thank the Chief Minister for giving me the opportunity. I will try my best to deliver the responsibility assigned to me with the guidance and support of the Chief Minister,” Ymbon said.
Ymbon and Dr Celestine were inducted into the Cabinet in the place of Sniawbhalang Dhar Prestone Tynsong who both were removed by the Chief Minister from the cabinet on Thursday.

Hits: 312

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *