EC announces election for next President on July 17

Shillong, June 07: The Election Commission today announced that the election for the next President will be held on July 17 and counting of votes will take place on July 20.
Announcing the election, Chief Election Commissioner, Nasim Zaidi, said that a notification in this regard would be issued on June 14.
The term of the current President, Pranab Mukherjee will end on July 24.
The last date for filing of nomination is June 28, while scrutiny of nominations will take place on June 29. The last date for withdrawal is July 1.
The announcement of the election has set the ball rolling for the declaration of candidates by the ruling BJP-led National Democratic Alliance and the Opposition parties.
The electoral college for the Presidential election has a strength of 10,95,619 votes.
Members of the electoral college include members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and members of the State Legislative Assemblies.
The Chief Election Commissioner informed that presidential election will take place through secret ballot and political parties “cannot issue any whip” to their respective MPs or MLAs.
MPs are expected to vote in Parliament House in Delhi, and the MLAs in their respective assemblies but they can vote at another polling station in case of exigency after applying to the poll panel in advance.

Leave a Reply